Wednesday, February 5, 2014
#InnovatorSummit -- Clarification on attaching photos to live people in FamilySearch Family Tree
Just a note on what happens when you attach a photo to a live person. Any person who is marked as living in FamilySearch.org Family Tree cannot be seen except by the person who entered the information. Entering information about a living person is optional, since it is not viewable by anyone else. However, photos are not restricted. If you attach a photo to a live person in FamiySearch Family Tree then only the people who can see the living person can see the photo, but if the URL of the photo were to be shared anyone could then view the photo. In effect, if the photo is shared, it becomes viewable by anyone. I hope this is correct. I check directly with the developers.