Some people eat, sleep and chew gum, I do genealogy and write...

Tuesday, December 10, 2013

Google Translate now in 80 languages

You may not have relatives that speak the new languages added to Google Translate, but there is obviously someone who does. Google Translate now works in 80 different languages. Some of the languages added include the following:
  • Hausa (Harshen Hausa), spoken in Nigeria and neighboring countries with 35 million native speakers
  • Igbo (Asụsụ Igbo) spoken in Nigeria with 25 million native speakers
  • Yoruba (èdè Yorùbá) spoken in Nigeria and neighboring countries with 28 million native speakers
  • Somali (Af-Soomaali) spoken in Somalia and other countries around the Horn of Africa with 17 million native speakers
  • Zulu (isiZulu) spoken in South Africa and other south-western African countries with 10 million native speakers
  • Mongolian (Монгол хэл), official language in Mongolia and also spoken in parts of China with 6 million native speakers
  • Nepali (नेपाली), spoken in Nepal and India with 17 million native speakers
  • Punjabi language (ਪੰਜਾਬੀ) (Gurmukhi script), spoken in India and Pakistan with 100 million native speakers
  • Maori (Te Reo Māori), spoken in New Zealand with 160 thousand speakers
I have friends that can benefit from some of these languages being translated. I had an introduction to Zulu when I was in graduate school. 

No comments:

Post a Comment